Voting for the first time in Ladakh after Article 370 is removed, long queues of voters: VIDEO


Voting for the fifth Ladakh Autonomous Mountain Development Council continues today on 26 seats in Ladakh. This is the first vote here after Article 370 was removed in the year 2019. There is a lot of enthusiasm among the local people here about voting.

Voting is being held today on 26 seats in Ladakh for the Fifth Ladakh Autonomous Mountain Development Council ( LAHDC ) -Kargil. This is the first major vote to be held in Ladakh as a union territory after Article 370 was removed in August 2019. There are 85 candidates in the field for 26 seats of LAHDC in Kargil. In this election, the Indian Janata Party is going to see a fight between ( BJP ) and the National Conference-Congress Alliance. Voters are also getting a lot of enthusiasm about this election. Long queues are being seen at polling booths.

Four councillors appointed by the administration

According to election officials, voting will take place from eight in the morning to four in the evening with 95,388 voters voting, including 46,762 women। A total of 85 candidates are in the election ground for the 26 seats of the 30-member Mountain Council. Four councillors with voting rights are nominated by the administration. The National Conference and Congress had announced a pre-election coalition but both have raised 17 (NC) and 22 ( Congress ) candidates. Both parties said that this consensus has been reached for those areas where there is a strong fight with the Bharatiya Janata Party ( BJP ). The BJP won a seat in the last election, but two PDP councillors came to its court, increasing its number to three. This time the BJP has fielded 17 candidates in the election.

The vote count will be on 8 October

Officials said the Common Man Party ( is trying its luck on four seats, while 25 independents are also in the election ground. Electronic voting machine ( EVM) is being used for the first time for council elections. According to election officials, 114 of the 278 polling stations built across the district are susceptible and 99 sensitive. Additional companies of the Central Armed Police Force ( CAPF ) have already been deployed and are performing their duty to ensure peaceful voting. The counting of votes will take place on 8 October and the new council will be formed before 11 October.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Voting Poll
[democracy id="1"]
%d bloggers like this: